Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Eagle Rock – Weekly Winners April 6-12

Posted by adamswife on April 13, 2008

First of all I want to report that I did NOT wake up with a backache this morning. The new mattress is wonderful.

When this area was first settled it was known as “Eagle Rock.” Later on someone decided that Idaho Falls would be a better name. I don’t know why, since there is no fall in the river here (except for that caused by the addition of a weir.) Historical mysteries aside, whatever committee decides on ways to beautify our city decided to honor the name Eagle Rock. This fountain in the middle of a roundabout is the result.

To view these in larger size go here and here.

More Weekly Winners
Get the code
18 Responses to “Eagle Rock – Weekly Winners April 6-12”

  1. Is the white stuff snow or part of the statue?

  2. Oh wow! Totally wonderful! I would love to see it for myself.

  3. Kelly said

    Looks so ominous with those dark skys…

    Have a good week!

  4. adamswife said

    GG – the “white stuff” is snow and ice. The entire fountain was frozen over this winter. Part of the time you could see the water running behind the ice. I wanted to get a picture then, but I couldn’t park because of the roundabout and the snow was too deep to try and walk up to it.

  5. Annie said

    Wow…that looks like a really awesome place!

  6. Zazzy said

    That’s a beautiful fountain. I hate to say it but the snow on it really make it look majestic! Like eagles in the mountains.

  7. Karen said

    Oh my gosh! Those are amazing photos!! What it must be like to see that in person!!!

  8. adamswife said

    It is quite breath-taking. I hadn’t been keeping up with the local news, so didn’t know it had been put in place. I came on it quite unexpectedly that first time. It made a great impact on me.

  9. HRH said

    Super cool photos!

  10. Jerinda said

    Very cool pictures!

  11. jenty said

    That’s quite strange looking, and very impressive!

  12. Mr Lady said

    Dude, that’s just AWESOME.

  13. Maggie said

    Awesome shots, and fun story about the history.

  14. Jientje said

    Wow!!!!
    Those are great Eve, I love the ice and the snow still on it! You captured this fountain really well!

  15. Roger said

    That is so cool Eve! And I am glad the new mattress is working for you!!

  16. Christine said

    Nice pictures. Love the ice and snow. I hope that has melts real soon. It warmed up to about 76 F. here today. I spent the whole day outside. It is so lovely.

  17. Laura said

    Neat! I love the second one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. What a beautiful fountain! I love the details ๐Ÿ™‚ Very interesting they decided to change the name to Idaho Falls…

Leave a Reply

 
