Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Springtime in Idaho – A Haiku

Posted by adamswife on April 10, 2008

Edition 9

Morning

Snowflakes fall

Softly

*****
Sunshine

Afternoon

It comes

*****
Cold wind

Blows and I

Shiver

*****

Springtime

Idaho

Is here

More Haiku Friday
16 Responses to “Springtime in Idaho – A Haiku”

  1. Jientje said

    That’s a nice Haiku!
    I’m still wondering what I’ll post today, don’t know yet!

  2. Joyce said

    Is this an unusually cold Spring for you, or is this how it usually goes in your neck of the woods?

  3. i’d take a little cold wind – and a shiver, i’m not sure i’ll ever shiver again!

    great haiku.

  4. wright said

    Go Spring! Happy Friday!

  5. adamswife said

    Joyce – This is the coldest Spring we’ve had in several years. But, no, it’s not unusual. I grew up 150 miles from here and 1000 feet lower in elevation. In that area Spring arrives a bit earlier, but it is not unusual (‘though not the norm) to see a snowstorm as late as July 4. So, being at the higher elevation it’s not unusual (‘though not the norm) to have this type of cold, wet spring. As we’ve been in a drought for many years we give thanks for all the moisture that falls. We would prefer rain by now, but we’ll take snow if that’s all we can get. Our reservoirs have become dangerously low. Last year the farmers were cut off from their irrigation water before the growing season ended. So, while we prefer warmer weather and an end to snow, we are grateful to see an end to the drought.

  6. Mishelle said

    I don’t know if I’d be able to do it!

  7. Such a beautifully written haiku 🙂 Ugh,still cold? Sorry to hear. It was warm here yesterday (70’s), and today, it’s back to 40 degree reality 😦

  8. Interesting new look to your blog with your columns reorganized! Well done ;–)

    Lovely photo and Haiga series this morning! Hope all is well with you and yours.

    Hugs and blessings,

    My Haiku Friday posts this week are:
    Joyful Burst of Color and
    Of Oddities and Change

  9. Jennifer said

    Hi eve!! Just popped over to day hi!! I will be uploading pics of my chirstmas cactus which is finally blooming!!!! later today!!!

  10. anglophilefootballfanatic said

    Wow. Snow this late?! I think I’d need one of those light therapy lamps if I lived any further north! Have a great time despite the cold.

  11. Nice post! It’s hard for me to believe that the snow just keeps flying around here. I’m quite ready for a full fledged trip to summer. It’s almost too late for spring and yes, I know, this happens every few years, but…
    I so enjoyed your photo and words!

  12. That’s exactly what is happening in Denver today. So cruel to have green grass and flowers in Texas, only to return to snow on the ground and brown plants. I need spring!

  13. Scylla said

    Lovely poetry, I love the images.

  14. Christine said

    Our snow is almost gone. It turned into a nice day this afternoon. Hopefully it warms up for you and rains. That cleans everything up so nice and will bring the water table up. We had drought years so last year and this year have brought the water levels up.

  15. Zazzy said

    I know I’m slow – I should just comment the first time I read! But I wanted to tell you that is a beautiful series of haiku. Also, I hope your spring warms up soon. We actually have rain/snow forecast today, too.

  16. adamswife said

    Zazzy – I sometimes go back to a posting two or three times before I’m ready to leave a comment. I like comments at any time, early or late. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
