Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

13 Random Bits

Posted by adamswife on April 10, 2008

ttspring2.jpg
Edition 9

Header graphic courtesy of Cindi @ Whisperings from the Wings

1. I had fried rice and sweet-n-sour pork for breakfast this morning. Actually, it was plain pork – I don’t like sweet-n-sour sauce, so I leave it off. I consider this an entirely rational and acceptable breakfast menu.

2. Lookin’ Out My Back Door Yes, It\'s snowing on April 10. Those white blobs you see on the photo are snowflakes. It is snowing today in Idaho Falls.

3. Lookin’ Out My Front Door We’ve seen this bush before when it was REALLY covered with snow.

SEARCH TERMS THAT HAVE LED OTHERS TO MY SITE

4. These are toes
5. Cornflakes cookies recipes
6. Partofeverything Melissa
7. Chicken skin neck
8. The family life of a porcupine
9. 1970 Valentine cards
10. Wrapping trees by famous artists

These have all left me scratching my head as to what I might have said that would bring this search to me. Especially the Melissa thing.

11. I cut my hair (and my son-in-law, my grandsons, and others over the years) with a Flowbee and have done for 15 years or more. I wore one out and had to get a new one. This drives my hairdresser crazy! 😀

12. One of my favorite memories from childhood is the Sunday afternoon drive. We would go with my dad’s parents and ride through the countryside looking at the newly plowed and planted fields. When it got so that grandpa had a tendency to “drive where he was looking” and not look where he was driving we always went in our car with Dad doing the driving. Very few farmers could pull a row straight enough to earn the admiration of these two men.

13. “Things are only impossible until they’re not.” Jean-Luc Picard in Star Trek: The Next Generation. I really like this quote because it reminds me of my high school chemistry teacher. He used to say, “I love young people. They’re too dumb to know something is impossible, so they go ahead and do it anyway.” He used as an example two young men who combined two inert elements to make a brand new compound. Everyone knows (or did prior to that) that inert elements will not combine with other elements – it’s impossible (until it’s not).

More Thursday Thirteen
The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments.

20 Responses to “13 Random Bits”

  1. SadieCass said

    Isn’t randomness fun?! Great list…and you’re the first person I have ever met that has used a flowbee!!!

  2. I love the snow. We’re getting tornados in Arkansas. Those are some very interesting searches on your site. “These are toes” . . . wonder if someone really didn’t know what they were! 🙂

  3. Wrapping trees by famous artists – https://adamswife.wordpress.com/category/crafts/

    The fmaily life of a porcupine – https://adamswife.wordpress.com/category/family-life/page/2/

    Chicken skin neck – https://adamswife.wordpress.com/2008/01/09/wordless-wednesday/

    These are toes – https://adamswife.wordpress.com/2008/01/27/277/

    Partofeverything melissa – https://adamswife.wordpress.com/2008/01/03/new-year-new-look/

    Enjoy.

  4. Chelle Y. said

    I was never great at science. You must have had a good teacher because I like that quote! I will have to remember it.

    Thanks for visiting my TT!

  5. I am so hoping we are done with snow. I went out without my coat yesterday for the first time this spring. My brother tells me we are getting another cold front. When will this global warming start?!

    Thanks for visiting my Anniversary edition Thursday Thirteen. 13 favorite T13 from the last year and leaving the kind comment. I hope you find something that keeps you coming back.

  6. adamswife said

    Sadie – My hairdresser said approximately the same thing.

    Grateful Guy – I should have expected someone to look those up. I still don’t get the reference to porcupines or Melissa. lol

    Dane – I think they are blaming all this snow on global warming. It’s somewhat twisted science.

  7. For Melissa see comment #4. For the porcupines, see https://adamswife.wordpress.com/2008/02/04/a-maudlin-monday-or-my-life-as-a-porcupine/. 🙂

  8. Chris said

    Fun list. I see nothing wrong with your breakfast menu, in fact I’ve done that a few times myself. Happy TT!

  9. adamswife said

    GG – I had totally forgotten that I had another life as a porcupine. Thanks for pointing that out to me.

  10. My husband and his dad and grandad were the same about the rows in the field. Interesting TT, and thanks for dropping in at Miller Manor! Come by any time!
    TM

  11. How in the world did you find out that those search terms could lead to your blog? Is there a reverse search engine? Weird! I remember Sunday drives, too. I like the quote in #13. I need to read it over and over.

  12. adamswife said

    Forgetfulone – WordPress provides a list of Search Terms that lead others to the site each day as part of the blog stats.

  13. Jientje said

    Random lists huh? That’s a great idea too, basicly you can do whatever you want? I like that! Have a great day Eve!

  14. Christine said

    I knew the chicken skin neck one right away. LOL I think that I am going to see if Dairy Queen gets me Sandy,s site. Hahahaha!

  15. adamswife said

    I had to try that, too. And I found her – on page 15. lol

  16. I totally forgot about the Flobee! Boy do I wish I could use that for my dog 🙂 CUtting his hair is a nightmare. Loved your random list! LOL at your search terms. There are some very strange people out there….

  17. adamswife said

    Sandy – they make an attachment for pets. Check it out. lol

  18. Ah … someone else who’ll eat just about anything for breakfast, just like me! LOL Hmmm … just when ya thought Spring had arrived, here comes the SNOW again! It’s ‘pretty’ … but I suspect you’ve had enough already ;–)

    We used to take Sunday afternoon drives as a family when I was a kid too … but with gas prices where they are today … such things may have become a luxury. I filled up yesterday at Costco (the cheapest place around for gas) and paid $3.53/gallon for regular … sigh!

    I’m getting a weird message from WordPress that I’m ‘posting comments too quickly’ and should ‘slow down’ … so I don’t know if this one is going to go through. I’ve already tried twice. Maybe the 3rd time will be the charm?
    Hugs and blessings,

  19. You know, whenever I want to know about porcupine family life, I go straight to you for answers. Heheh.

    Also, you rock for using a Flowbee. My mother was a hairdresser, so I had my hair cut by only her for most of my life. Then, I taught Phil how to cut it. Now I am cutting his hair with a “professional” hair trimming kit we bought from Costco. It’s got nothing on the Flowbee, though.

  20. Christine said

    Beautiful photo of your grapevine in the snow. I love the snow, too, but only to play in.
    That’s what I have for breakfast the next morning, left over Chinese from the night before.

    Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

 
