Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Mittens and Vacuums and Exercise

Posted by adamswife on April 8, 2008

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

I have a number of things I need to tackle today. But first, something I completed this week. It all started back in January when my granddaughter, Jessica, came home from school with hands that were wet and icy. “Didn’t you wear you gloves?” I asked. “Yeah, gramma, but they got all wet and now my hands are freezing.” Being a good gramma I decided to knit her a pair of woolen mittens – wool is supposed to maintain its insulating properties when wet. Thus no more red, icy hands.

Then her brother decided he needed new mittens, too. So I knit another pair. Then the littlest brother had mittens that were too small – so he got a pair, too.

Finally, it was Emmy’s turn. Would I please knit her some mittens, too? About this time I started having the never-ending flu with it’s accompanying cough-til-you-gag. So work did not proceed very rapidly. But, this week Emmy’s mittens are finished. I would show you a picture, but she has them on her hands and has already left for school.

Today I have two major things to tackle.

  1. Vacuuming the floor. When I don’t feel well this is one chore that gets put-off. Consequently it is to the stage that I either have to vacuum today or get a scoop shovel next week. 😉
  2. Starting over on my diet and exercise plan. Another thing that goes by the way when I’m not well. I’m finally feeling better and intend to tackle squats/lunges for the Tight-Ass Club and 3,000 steps per day for Walker Tracker.

I think that’s enough to tackle for one Tuesday. Don’t you?

Join Tackle It Tuesday
11 Responses to “Mittens and Vacuums and Exercise”

  1. LisaN said

    I think your list is great. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. I used to knit, but never ventured into mittens. I was never good at the three needle process………..:)

  2. Christine said

    Knitting mittens. I haven’t made any for a number of years. I am having to do a bunch of housework today. Mainly laundry. I think it was breeding while I was sick.

  3. Love your tackles..Thanks for the links.

    Robin@heartofwisdom
    http://www.heartofwisdom.com/heartathome/

  4. Lynne said

    What a nice thing for you to do! I bet they all love their new mittens. 😀

  5. Good luck with the hoovering. My dog loves being hoovered.

  6. Jientje said

    My grandmother used to knit my mittens too when I was a kid!
    great memory! Good luck with the vacuuming!

  7. Aww, you are such a great gramma! That is a whole lot of knitting 🙂 So glad you’re feeling better. I’m in the same boat with the vacuuming and exercise.

  8. Yup, that’s enough for one day! It’s not vacuuming that I mind so much as it is dusting and cleaning the bathtub.

    **I don’t have a tub – just a small shower. I clean the shower with the Scrubbing Bubbles Automatic Shower Cleaner. Vacuuming is hard on my back – I always end up hurting.

  9. Roger said

    I’ll take some mittens to Eve lol! Hope your doing good my friend!! 😀

  10. Zazzy said

    Good for you, Eve! Vacuuming is the very worst, imho. I bought a light weight vacuum just to keep up my little space. I can roll around in my desk chair and the vacuum is light enough to move pretty easily. Love the mittens, too. You’re a good gramma!

  11. Late making my rounds. Awesome tackle! Stop by to see the progress on my sunflowers.

    For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen, the home of Vintage Thingies Thursdays.

Leave a Reply

 
