Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Need Advice

Posted by adamswife on April 1, 2008

aching-back.jpgI’m in the market for a new mattress. I am entertaining thoughts about the sleep number bed, a gel mattress, a Tempurpedic, or maybe a water bed. Anybody have any of these? Information about them? Opinions? I’m really tired of waking up with a back ache that cripples me for 30 minutes to an hour every morning. Please, if you have any knowledge on the subject let me know.

6 Responses to “Need Advice”

  1. mssmo said

    Hi there, It has been almost a year since my husband and I bought the Tempurpedic beds. They are awsome. We have our bed and one for the guest room, for when my Mothin law comes for a visit 😉 I used to wake up with a pain in all my body. Noe with tempurpedic, I really feel good in the morning. Most of the time I dont even want to get out of bed. But as always, I have too.
    The sleep number bed I saw at the Home Show out in Anaheim CA. We arrived early so we were able to watch as they set the things up, like get the air or whatever is in them, Later after a few rounds about the place, I stopped just to see if they were comfy. I already had my Tempurpedic. I am glad I did that. I was going to be mad if it was more comfy than my bed. It was not at all like they say on tv. I sleep alot better on the temp. bed. It dosent slosh, or feel like those blow up things for your pool, and dosen’y feel “guishy” like a jell bed. We shopped around and the Tempurpedic won. They are not cheap, but we used income tax money. They deliver and set it up. And you have to have their box or platform box of thiers or the warranty is no good.
    I Hope this helps. Go out & try them all & see if which one you like. Good Luck to you.

  2. Christine said

    Do not get a water bed. I had to get rid of it because it caused my back to ache. I haven’t tried any of the others. I have a fairly firm Posterpedic but I put a memory foam on it as well. It took a long time to get used to it after sleeping on a water bed for years but it is working good for me now. This flu is taking forever to go away. I feel crummy again today. Hang in there. It has to go away eventually. Hugs.

    **We used to have a water bed. Had to get rid of it because it hurt hubby’s back. I liked it a lot. My back started bothering me after we got rid of the water bed. It’s been 10 years now – hubby no longer shares my bed (he has his own at the nursing home) – my first thought was to go back to the water bed, but after this long I don’t know if it would still be good for me or if it would make things worse. Thanks for the input.

  3. Roger said

    I sorry about your back Eve! I heard something bad about the sleep number beds, but for the life of me I cant remember what it was. Water beds hurt my back, but I think those memory foam beds might be good but have never tried one. I hope you find a solution!

  4. Hi Eve! We have a memory foam bed. It was pretty expensive and I don’t think I would recomend it. At first it was heavenly, I put flannel sheets on it and it was soooo cozy. After about a year there are dips in the whole thing. We turn it regularly but to no avail. We are in the market for a new mattress as well. Try sleeping with a pillow between your knees or under them if you sleep on your back, for now. This often takes the pressure off your back. Hope your back is soon better!

    Thanks. I’ve used a pillow between my knees for probably 20 years now. Can’t sleep at all without it. I’ve wondered about the memory foam and how well it holds up. I have 3 or 4 inches of it on my bed right now, but obviously it’s not doing the trick.

  5. If you have back problems DON’T get a waterbed!!! I slept on one for decades thinking it was good for my back only to discover (the moment I laid down on a Tempur-pedic mattress for the first time) what ‘real’ support is. I bought one about 12 years ago and haven’t had a back-ache since. I love it!!! I also love their pillows and take one with me whenever I travel. The only two ‘downsides’ are the initial odor … (but that passes quickly) and the fact that it sleeps WARMER than most mattresses … (something I like but others don’t). I’ve not tried a sleep number bed but I know folks who like theirs. As a kid, my folks had us sleep on Posturepedic mattresses … but I wouldn’t trade my current mattress ever!
    Hugs and blessings,

  6. We have a pillow top mattress from Denver Mattress. It is the best bed ever.

Leave a Reply

 
