Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

13 Favorite Songs

Posted by adamswife on February 7, 2008

Singing Diva

Edition 4

1. To Each His Own My father used to sing this to my mother. It was “their song.” I have always loved its sentiment and how much my dad loved my mom.

2. You Light Up My Life Ed declared this to be “our song” when we were dating. It’s true – he does light up my life.

3. You Picked a Sad Time to Leave Me, Lucille – with slightly altered lyrics this is a song bemoaned by truckers – “You picked a sad time to leave me, loose wheel.”

4. Kentucky Babe – Our dad used to sing this to us after we were in bed at night. A beautiful lullaby full of love.

5. It’s a Grand Night for Singing – Just because I love to sing and this is so exuberant.

6. There’s No Business Like Show Business – Who can resist Ethel Merman at her most boisterous?

7. Some Enchanted Evening – Because it’s beautiful and romantic.

8. Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah – Because it’s so much fun to sing and so full of hope.

9. Now The Day Is Over – A beautiful prayer at the end of the day.

10. How Great Thou Art – Because He is great, because it makes my heart sing.

11. Hey! Jude This is a song that was played frequently at dances I went to when I was young. It reminds me of the guy who gave me my first kiss.

12. The Wichita Lineman – See #11

13. Knock Three Times – Because it’s so much fun!

Thursday 13 Blogroll
Today’s Thirteeners

27 Responses to “13 Favorite Songs”

  1. Laura said

    Lots of great songs there! How Great Thou Art and the Hallelujah Chorus are my faves out of the list!

    Happy T-13!

  2. Starrlight said

    Happy TT!

  3. What a great list! I think I’m going to nick your idea one week ๐Ÿ™‚ I also love How Great Thou Art, the Hallelujah Chorus, No Business Like Show Business…that one reminds me of another I really like “Make Them Laugh”–Donald O’Connor was priceless doing that song!

  4. melanie said

    Great list..love How Great Thou Art!

  5. At 56 years young I know and like every one of these songs. Have a great TT. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I actually have #3 in my music collection.

  7. What a great idea for a list…..I haven’t heard all of these, but the ones I have, I really like. Especially Ethel Merman ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Smiler said

    I’m really bad with remembering names of anything, including songs, so much so that I couldn’t come up with a list like that of my own – and who knows what I’d come up with then… Handelโ€™s Messiah is definitely a great classic!

  9. How fun to find a list of songs I actually recognize for a change. So many of the younger folk list their play lists and I’m lucky to know one. What I hadn’t heard of before was the trucker’s version of “Lucille” … LOL
    Hugs and blessings,

  10. Wow we had one song in common on our lists this week. As for #11, it was the closing theme to a local movie show that I watched for a decade. I undersatand that Paul wrote it for Julian Lennon when John left his mom for Yoko.

    We did #8 this year at church and we sing #10 a lot.

    I don’t think I’ve heard #11 in 35 years. I do know I like it.

    And I think most of Tony Orlando’s stuff was fun.

    Thanks for visiting my T13 #66 13 Movie Titles that are Song Titles too.

  11. Rebecca said

    I do a good Ethel M. impersonation. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Christine said

    Knock Three Times…I can see myself in the kitchen…doing dishes with my mom…singing and dancing! We used to knock on the counter top…three times of course. LOL I think my favorite song is Moon River.

  13. Knock three times! That brings back childhood memories. And I love to sing along with Some Enchanted Evening. Not that anyone wants to hear me, but it’s fun!

  14. I finally have my meme up that you tagged me for! Thank you for the tag! Diana

  15. Nicholas said

    I remember Knock Three Times! “Twice on the pipe, clang clang!”

  16. Great. Now I’m going to have dreams about Ethyl Merman. *shudder*

  17. Serina said

    I LOVE knock Three Times!

  18. Oh I love your #2 so much!

    Youuuu light up my life…
    You give me hope
    To carry on
    You light up my days
    and fill my nights with song…

    *Let’s Sing!”

  19. adamswife said

    Writing at Home – I’m singing it, but I don’t hear you. Come on, sing out.

  20. tommiea said

    Very cute songs….Thanks for visiting my ABC TT.

  21. I know and like 3, 6, 7, 10, and 11. Nice list!

  22. I remember when You Light Up My Life was big! Wow. What a trip. Thanks for these.

  23. melanie said

    How Great Thou Art…Great song!

  24. Lady Rose said

    great collection of music happy tt

  25. Lynne said

    The Wichita Lineman, was that sung by Glen Campbell?

  26. Barb said

    I especially love 2, 3, 6 & 10. Oh, I loved Ethel Merman. This is a great TT! Thanks.

  27. […] Get the entire post from here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
