Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

2008 New Years Questions

Posted by adamswife on January 31, 2008

Edition 3

A meme for Thursday Thirteen, with a bonus because it’s a list of 20 things. Enjoy!
Here’s the rules: Remove 1 question from below, and add in your personal question, making it a total of 20 questions, then tag 8-10 people in your list, list them out at the end of this post. Notify them in their chat box that they have been tagged.

1. At what age do you, or did you, wish to marry? I was married at 23 and again at 29. I don’t wish to marry again, ever.

2. What color do you like most? That would have to be blue.

3. Where do you want to go the most?
I don’t have a lot of desire to travel. If I have to choose something, probably the inland cruise to Alaska.


4. Which part of you do you hate the most? My dry skin. Sometimes I itch so bad you’d think I was an old dog with fleas. Scratching Dot

5. When you encounter a sad moment, what do you do? Experience it, and then move on.

6. What are you afraid to lose the most?
My sanity

7. If you win $1 million, what would you do?
Pay off all my doctors, buy a nice little house, hire a nurse so that Ed could come home until he dies.Nurse

8. What’s your wish for the year ahead? Better health than I’ve experienced in several years.

9. How did you celebrate the New Year? A party with my daughter, son-in-law, and grandchildren. Everyone went to sleep before midnight except my 8-year-old grandson and me. Happy New Year

10. What one thing has had the greatest influence on your life?
My membership in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It has influenced everything I have ever done or hope to do.

11. Which type of person do you hate the most?
Anyone who would abuse a child in any way – sexually, physically, emotionally.

12. What is your greatest ambition?
To see my grandchildren grow to be good men and women.

13. If you had one wish what would you wish for? Money? Prestige? Fame? Fortune? World Peace? I don’t think so. I would wish to see the Second Coming of Christ.

14. Name one of your body parts your hubby or boyfriend tells you he adores: My boobs – They’re not as enticing as they used to be, but for some things he has a good memory. Rack (not mine, but very similar)

15. What is the best gift you can give someone this year? Unquestioned love

16. List two of your Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions. I didn’t make any resolutions. I have, however, taken on two challenges this year – 1) Read and ‘report’ on 50 books, and 2) use up my yarn stash and unwanted fabric to make warm things to donate next winter, probably to the women’s shelter.

17. What is the craziest thing you’ll do or have done in 2008? I don’t generally plan ahead for craziness. However, anything crazy will probably involve my favorite cousin. We have been known to supply sound effects for a too-quiet fireworks display, Fireworks to laugh until we wet ourselves, and to run away in the middle of the day to escape our children for a few hours.

18. What are the Top 2 things you are most thankful for in the year 2007 that made you even happier for 2008? One thing I’m thankful for from 2007 is blogging. I was a total novice when my friend, Zazzy, introduced me to the concept through her website Diabetic Round Table. It has helped me to feel connected to the world outside my home. It is also one of the changes that helped me out of a depression that was worsening rapidly. The other thing I am most thankful for is the improvement in my daughter’s mental health. She has struggled with mental illness related to her thyroid imbalance and resulting lack of sleep (sleep deprived psychosis) and from PTSD. She has grown stronger during 2007 and continues to be happier and healthier in 2008

19. What was the best lesson you learned in 2007? Never let a doctor operate on me with only a local anesthetic!

20. In this very moment, are you doing what you thought you’d be doing at this stage in your life?
Nope! Not even a little bit. I learned a long time ago not to make too many plans for the future. You know what Bobby Burns said about the best-laid plans. I had a vague idea that at this point in my life I would be sharing a home with my husband where we had lived for a minimum of 15 years. farmhouse We would have many friends in the community. Our family would look forward to coming to visit us. I would teach school for 9 months each year building up a nice retirement fund and then spend the summers gardening and preserving the harvest. Life happens when you’re making other plans.

More Thursday Thirteeners

I accepted a voluntary tag for this meme from Sandy at Momisodes. I will, like she, leave it up to you whether you would like to be tagged. If you decide to take the tag, let me know and I’ll add your link. Thank you.

6 Responses to “2008 New Years Questions”

  1. Christine said

    You sure have question 29 right bang on. I also planned/hoped for life to be very different than it is. How true that life happens when we are making other plans. Regarding question 19: What happened? I always thought that local anesthesia was the way to go. I am afraid of being put under. What would happen if I woke up in the middle? Might as well stay awake and know what is going on. But what do I know.The only surgery that I have had is having my tonsils removed.

  2. adamswife said

    It was when I got my pacemaker. They used something similar to Novocaine. When I go to the dentist he uses about 4 times the normal dosage of Novocaine and then waits an extra length of time for it to take effect. I seem to be somewhat resistant to it. For the surgery the doctor gave me a bit more when I complained that I was feeling everything he did. Then he bitched about it running into the surgical area. He didn’t wait for it to take effect before continuing. I felt everything as though I hadn’t been anesthetized at all. It was one of the worst experiences of my life. I’ll take my chances with a general every time rather than go through anything like that again. I have had several surgeries under general anesthetic and never experienced any problem.

  3. Gosh that’s a lot of work! It’s great to get a chance to learn a little big more about you. I also hope you will have better health, and with it great joy, this upcoming year.

    Happy TT!

  4. Thank you so much for taking this tag! What a great job with your replies. I too wish you and your family better health in 2008. I’m so glad you found blogging as well last year, and that we found each other because of it 🙂

  5. Thanks! I learned a lot about you.

  6. adamswife said

    Sandy, you’re most welcome. It was rather fun to do.
    Thanks for stopping by. I’m very glad I found blogging. I’m glad to have met you and so many other blogging friends

    Forgetfulone, I hope you learned only good things. ;}

Leave a Reply

 
