Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Word of the Day

Posted by adamswife on January 29, 2008

I have chosen two words for today.  I couldn’t decide between them and choose just one.  

First:  kibitz (from Dictionary.com)

1. –verb (used without object) –  to act as a kibitzer

2. –verb (used with object) – to offer advice or criticism to as a kibitzer: to kibitz the team from the bleachers

From Yiddish kibitsen “to offer gratuitous advice as an outsider,” from Ger. kiebitzen “to look on at cards, to kibitz,” originally in thieves’ cant “to visit” 

When I was a teenager I asked one of the young men I knew if he was still standing there kibitzing.  He thought I swore at him.  Maybe that’s one of the reasons this is a favorite word. 🙂

 Second:  facetious (from Answers.com)

 Definition: tongue-in-cheek, kidding
Antonyms: formal, grave, serious, unfunny

I think the reason I like the word facetious is that it so often describes me.  I remember my mother telling me over and over, “Don’t be facetious!”  Apparently I didn’t listen very well. 

Do you have a favorite word or two?  Please share. 

8 Responses to “Word of the Day”

  1. Zazzy said

    I used to have a list of words that sounded exactly like what they meant. I wonder where that went.

    Thwack was one of those words, though. It’s fun to say and it sounds like what it means.

    Per Merriam Webster, “to strike with or as if with something flat or heavy.”

  2. Onomatopoeia. It means “sounds like it’s written”, or something. Like woof sounds like “woof”. Odd that a word that means that doesn’t sound like anything, and is awkward to spell and pronounce. But I guess that that’s English for you.

  3. Christine said

    Grungy…grubby…gritty…grimy…gluttony. That is all I have to say.

  4. adamswife said

    Well, Christine, I think that is quite enough. lol

    Zazzy, I’ve heard your take on words that sound and feel just right before. I have to agree: Thwack is a goody.

    Oh, Solomon, you make me chuckle. English is such a fun language. And it is spoken in so many different ways around the world – or even just across the country. ;D

  5. I live in an area that is known for having a strong accent, and when I was young, I was at my grandparents house one night, and there were listening to a tape of a well known local comedian. I remember whispering to mom mom, “What language is that lady talking in?” because I couldn’t understand a word she was saying.

  6. I love Facetious…I’ll have to use that one day when I speak to my daughter too 😉

    I love the medical term “sternocleidomastoid.” It’s a muscle that attaches from your sternum to your clavicle. It was my favorite while learning anatomy and physiology, especially when spelling counted during our exams on identifying muscles on real humans.

  7. adamswife said

    LOL @ Solomon

    Sandy, that is, indeed, a winner of a word. Too bad I’ll likely never have occasion to use it. At least I hope not. I seem to learn new medical terms when I have something new go wrong with my body. I don’t wanna go there!!

  8. Dawn said

    my most frequently used word is um.. censored. I am a big fan of copacetic though.

Leave a Reply

 
