Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Photo Hunt 2: Old Fashioned

Posted by adamswife on January 26, 2008

I had a difficult time trying to find something old fashioned. I contemplated posting a picture of myself, but rejected that on account of I don’t like the way I look. So I went on a photo hunt through the house and this is what I found.

telephone table
A telephone desk with matching chair
More Photo Hunters
17 Responses to “Photo Hunt 2: Old Fashioned”

  1. Pamela said

    That is really lovely. I remember telephone stands! Back then, talking on the phone forced you to sit down and concentrate on the conversation. Much different than now, when we are all running around doing 5 other things (driving!) with our phones attached to our ears.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Telephone desks do seem to be old fashioned these days, with cordless phones and cell phones being used more and more! Nice choice for this week’s Hunt. 🙂

  3. m.o.M said

    Love that harp shape in the chair back! Telephone desks are great, but certainly obsolete now that phones are no longer tethered to the wall, huh?

  4. Kathy S said

    I like the lyre back on that chair. The phone is definitely not old-fashioned, though. We had a really old fashioned looking one when I was a kid. But it wouldn’t work any more now since they are discontinuing supporting the rotary dial system.

  5. Yen said

    That’s beautiful! 🙂

  6. Zazzy said

    I really like that little table! Such an interesting design. Very nice 😀

  7. Utah Mommy said

    Nice one you have here. Happy weekend!

  8. adamswife said

    Thank you all so much for your kind words and for stopping by. When I was a teenager we had a wall phone that was mounted near the front door. The members of my family could frequently be seen standing out on the front step talking on the phone. We didn’t have a phone desk.

  9. I love the concept of the chair fitting into the desk. What a clever idea!

  10. excellent entry, they just do not make stuff that good anymore

  11. adamswife said

    Solomon, Charlie, I agree with both of you.

  12. Christine said

    What a gorgeous table and chair. When I was a kid we had the phone attached to the wall with a long, long cord. Somebody always got hung up in it or the cord would get twisted up and you would have to spin the receiver around and around to untangle it.

  13. adamswife said

    I certainly remember those days. My father always accused us of wrapping up in the cord. It was easier once we got the phone that you could unplug the receiver from the cord. Then we didn’t accidentally bounce the receiver on the floor anymore. lol

  14. Iris said

    Wow – that is a gorgeous telephone table. I wouldn’t mind having that in my house 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing.

  15. Come on Eve … you’re not old-fashioned! I love this choice and have something similar in my house. There’s nothing like the old stuph some times.
    Hugs and blessings,

  16. my3boysandi said

    I especially like the chair

  17. carol said

    I have on of these-same design, lyre back chair with lion’s head pull. It may be obsolete for a telephone table, but it makes a great laptop table!

Leave a Reply

 
