Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

13 Things for Which I Am Grateful

Posted by adamswife on January 23, 2008

One day as I was surfing through the blogosphere I came upon a blog written by Solomon Broad wherein he posts each day a list of things for which he is grateful. In reading his daily lists I have been inspired to make a similar posting. So, in no particular order, the following are 13 things for which I am grateful:
1. My eyeglasses glasses – I have for the last 45 years cursed my glasses (I was, of course, wearing eyeglasses when I left the womb). They slide up and down my face, they make my ears hurt, they fog up and I can’t see, when it is cold outside they conduct that cold into my face and make it hurt. I have learned from Solomon to be grateful for my glasses. Without them I would be helpless – I cannot see to watch tv, to drive, to blog on my computer, or to enjoy all the beauties of the world around us.
2. My son-in-law – he has provided me with 4 beautiful grandchildren, 4 step-grandchildren and 4 step-great-grandchildren. He loves my daughter and takes good care of her. He invited me into his home to live and to have an area that is private for myself.
3. My God and His Teachings Bible
4. My parents who loved me unconditionally and taught me all that they knew (or at least all that I would learn). They set an example for me to follow that has never led me into trouble.
5. My sister and her husband – they listen to me whine, give advice when I need it – whether I want it or not, and love me despite knowing me so well. My sister has been there for me all my life since she first shared chocolate cake with me by climbing into my crib when I was 6 weeks old. πŸ˜€
6. My husband, Ed Ed – He says when we met he knew he wanted me for his own and has never made me feel that he changed his mind.
7. My Chair my chair – it holds me when I nap, accommodates grandchildren who need a lap to sit on, anchors me when the world becomes too exciting around me.
8. My car Car it gets me where I need to go and has never let me down.
9. My grandchildren – they make me smile and remind me not to get too old, too soon.
10. A warm fire on a cold day Fire
11. Books books – especially a really good mystery novel or one that makes me laugh.
12. My country
13. Change – how dull life would be if nothing ever changed, not the seasons, not the political leaders, not the fashions, not even my mind.
23 Responses to “13 Things for Which I Am Grateful”

  1. melanie said

    You are so blessed! I like #13..great thinking!

  2. Ellen said

    That’s a wonderful list of things to be thankful for…

  3. Such gratitude lists are refreshing and inspiring. We really do have so much for which to be grateful. Just have to think for a sec!

  4. I am ashamed to say I don’t do this enough.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  5. Wonderful List! I am into gratitude as well. Daily learning to be thankful. Have a grand TT!

  6. What an inspirational read. You truly know what is important. Big hug and have a great TT. πŸ™‚

  7. Christine said

    I am thankful for high index lenses. I too was born with my eyeglasses on. They are the first thing I grab for in the morning and they had better be where I think I left them or I have to ask for help locating them. LOL! Every day I look for something to be thankful for. I have never failed to find something.Somehow a thankful heart keeps me going.

  8. You are truly blessed with many things to be thankful for. Happy T13!

  9. Smiler said

    Lists like that are always so inspiring. This one reminds me that I haven’t done a gratitude list in a while. I finally found a solution to my problem!

  10. adamswife said

    It is all too easy to forget how blessed we are. I have dealt with a lot this past year. At times I felt totally overwhelmed with problems and challenges. To stop and count the really good things in life helps to put those challenges into their proper place.

  11. Zazzy said

    It is easy to forget what’s important when we are caught up in the middle of day to day life. I have to remind myself to take a few moments to appreciate those things.

  12. Laura said

    Great list! Makes me think about things I’m thankful for! Happy T-13!

  13. How wonderful. My favorite TT this week! Have a super day.

  14. Noelle said

    Hi, cool list!! I want to do one of these sometime, well, I would actually like to make a list of 100 things I’m thankfull for. Thanks for stopping by my blog yesterday!!
    Cheers!!
    Noelle
    http://lifes-adventures.net

  15. Rhonda said

    Great post. I am thankful every day for my life and where I’ve ended up. I believe HE got me here ’cause I listened to him and that is what it’s all about.

  16. IAAdmin said

    I can definately relate to the eyeglasses. I didn’t have to start wearing them until about 10 years ago (when I graduated high school…………:), but now, if I don’t wear them, I can’t read.

    Over the years, I’ve started looking at them as a fashion statement.

  17. adamswife said

    I wasn’t actually born with glasses. I had to start wearing them when I was 13. It’s just that I hate to give away my true age. *blush* A fashion statement, indeed.

    Thank you all for your kind words! It is so hard to feel sorry for yourself when you stop each day to contemplate the good things in your life. That’s what has kept me visiting Solomon each day since I first looked into his blog. I’m going to have to add Greatfullivin to my list, too.

    I’ve never been anyone’s favorite before. Thank you, Joyful Days.

    Adelle, Laura, Rhonda, Smiler, Noelle, (I know I’m missing some here) thank you all. If I have in any way inspired you to contemplate your own list of things to be grateful for, I’m glad. I always feel that a good idea should be taken and made your own. ;D

  18. What a great idea! I love Solomon’s blog too πŸ™‚ You put together a lovely list and couldn’t agree more with #13 πŸ˜‰

  19. This is a lovely gratitude list Eve. I’ve had the habit of writing 5 things each day in my gratitude journal before going to bed each day. It’s been a while since I’ve done a gratitude post, however. Thanks for reminding me. Maybe I’ll do one soon.
    Hugs and blessings,

  20. Natalie said

    I love the positive tone of your list!

  21. Elisabeth said

    I love blog posts like this! I’m grateful for my glasses too.

  22. Most of those things would be on my “thankful” list as well. Looks like a comfy chair, too.

  23. Great list. You’ve just reminded me to be grateful for my computer chair.

Leave a Reply

 
