Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

A Walk in the Park

Posted by adamswife on January 13, 2008

January 6-January 12, 2008

I was inspired by Jientje’s weekly winners walk in the park. I, too, took a walk in the park this week. We were on the banks of the Snake River, and these are the pictures we took there.

Snake River in Winter

The Snake River in Winter

Duck Pond

A warm spot in the frozen river where ducks and geese gather.

Ducks & Geese

Ducks and geese along the banks of the river rely on handouts to feed themselves.

Ice Fall

Frozen water fall over the weir

Temple by the River

Looking across the river to the LDS Temple (the dark spot in the middle is a duck in flight)

Visit other Weekly Winners
39 Responses to “A Walk in the Park”

  1. Very nice! I LOVE ducks – do you feed them bread?

  2. Very nice! I LOVE ducks – do you feed them bread?

  3. Tasina said

    Beautiful pictures – thank you for sharing.

  4. adamswife said

    I’ve never fed the ducks. We have vowed to make this a weekly pilgrimage and fully intend to take bread with us the next time we go. While we were there we saw 3 different families feeding bread to the ducks and geese.

  5. katana said

    oh lovely! Those picturs are wonderful! I used to love feeding animals when I was younger 🙂 these pictures make me nostalgic.

  6. tommiea said

    I have never been to a duck pond in winter….those are great shots.

  7. Beautiful photo’s. I sometimes travel to a local (well, it’s about 20 miles away…) river just to feed the ducks. 😀

  8. Love it! Wonderful pictures here.. 😀

  9. Zazzy said

    Wonderful photos. It looks so peaceful! Don’t people raft down the snake?

  10. Wow that looks cold! And quiet! Great pictures 🙂

  11. mp said

    How beatiful!! I’m really need to do the walk in the park too.. WOW the stark white and the temple in the background is awesome!

  12. Great pictures!

  13. tiff said

    Those are very beautiful photos. I love all the white. I felt so sad for the ducks and geese though.

  14. adamswife said

    Tasina, Katana, Tommiea, Solomon Broad, Secret Agent Mama, Happy Campers, MP, Suzanne, and Tiff – Thank you all for stopping by and for leaving such nice comments. All that field of white is ice and snow on the river. I’ll post more photos as the seasons change so you can actually see the water. LOL

    Zazzy, they don’t generally raft through our area, but where there are rapids they do. In the summertime you can see boats and water-skiers out there. I had the thought that they ought to clear the ice and do some skating. But I saw more than one area where there is apparently a warm spring that keeps the water from freezing, so it probably isn’t safe. A few miles further south you can see the ice fishermen with their little huts out on the river.

  15. Marylin said

    great pics! I love the ducks 🙂

  16. Christine said

    Wow, that looks like Saskatoon in the winter. That could be our river and our weir, minus the ducks and geese. So that is where all our ducks and geese went for the winter. I wonder why they left winter to go to winter? They should be coming back by the end of March. I should bring the camera to the hospital and get some river shots and stop off at the weir on the way home. I will try and do that this week.

  17. adamswife said

    Most of the geese and a good many of the ducks stop on their way north and south. I don’t know why some of them decide to stay year-round.

  18. IAAdmin said

    Since moving to the West Coast, I really enjoy looking at pictures of the snow. I don’t miss the cold, but the pictures are great……….:) Thanks for sharing.

  19. Wow — lovely photos and HUGE response to this post Eve! How fun for you. These are BEAUTIFUL, but methinks I’ll enjoy your snow from afar and enjoy MY warmer So Cal weather (though I do wish the winds would stop). The noisy surf awakened me this morning. I hope you made it to church yesterday and enjoyed the REAL interactions.
    Hugs and blessings,

  20. adamswife said

    IA, Storyteller, thank you for reminding me that there are places where the sun shines and the temperatures reach out of the 20’s. I love looking at the snow, especially when it is white and pristine like on the river. However, I don’t enjoy the cold and the ice that come with it.

    I did make it to church yesterday and it was very nice.

  21. Jientje said

    Gosh!!
    That’s great, you’re being inspired by me?
    Thanks! I love yours, it’s so different than mine, withj all that snow! The only thing we have in common are the ducks!

  22. adamswife said

    Jientje, I think it was the contrast to what you posted that I wanted to show. I was going to say that ducks seem to be everywhere, but Christine has already told us they are not in Saskatoon. =)

  23. Dawn said

    Oh it looks cold – but lovely!

  24. adamswife said

    It is both cold and lovely. Thanks for stopping by.

  25. liza said

    poor ducks no water to swim on.look so cold there..;0
    great shot.Happy WW!
    mine’s here

  26. adamswife said

    There are actually a couple areas of open water – evidently a warm spring comes up in the area – where the ducks and geese can get into the water. Thanks, Liza, for stopping by and leaving a link.

  27. lutchi said

    gorgeous shots, thanks for sharing.

    Mine is up at 4Seasonsofmylife. Hope you can visit me too. Have a great WW.

  28. susiej said

    I love with one with the ducks. Gorgeous.

    Sunday Drive

  29. Gorgeous pictures!

  30. Wow!! Look at all that snow.. Thanks for sharing..

    cheers Kim

  31. Jientje said

    How nice to get that many comments on this post Eve! Well your pictures are magnificent, you deserve this!
    have a great Sunday!

  32. Tasina said

    Beautiful pictures – thanks for sharing.

  33. Trish said

    Just beautiful snow crusted pictures -thanks for sharing.

  34. rachel said

    Fabulous weekly winners! Just looking at those pictures made me want to curl up in a blanket in front of a fire!!

  35. Susan B. said

    Was the water over-flow frozen? These were all great.

  36. adamswife said

    Yes, the water coming over the weir is frozen solid. The whole river is pretty much frozen in that area, except for the warm-spring spots where the ducks and geese can find a bit of open water.

  37. HRH said

    loved the pictures…makes me shiver.

  38. Jeanette said

    Beautiful pictures of the river.

  39. Rhonda said

    Oh how fun! I loved all of them!

Leave a Reply

 
