Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

New Year, New Look

Posted by adamswife on January 3, 2008

 Autumn Sunset Avatar

I’ve been doing a bit of redecorating this morning – maybe you noticed?  I am frustrated because I wanted to use this picture at the top of the sidebar.  It won’t shrink to fit!  When I try to use it only the left 1/3 shows up.  Not a very interesting picture, for sure.

It is still cold a miserable here.  We are expecting warmer temperatures for the next 2-3 days, however.  It may get all the way up to 36 degrees.  And there is also rain in the forecast.  I hope it rains enough to clear some of the snow away and not just enough to make more ice on the roads.  We’ll see.

I was forced to change pharmacies recently.  Our local pharmacy sold out to Wal-Green’s.  I have nothing against Wal-Green’s, but the service you get from a large chain just can’t match the personal attention of a local store.  I have been in a panic all week.  I called in a refill for Nexium 2 weeks ago.  When I went to pick it up they didn’t have it.  They had to get authorization from the doctor for more refills.  I don’t know if it was the doctor or the store, but someone hadn’t followed through – no authorization – and I was down to my last 3 capsules.  So on New Year’s Day they gave me enough for 3 days to tide me over ’til they got the fax.  I called this morning to see if it was ready – finally – and they assured me that it had already been picked up.  NOOOOOO!!!!  Well, with further investigation they found it.  Someone had nearly given it to the wrong person, but discovered his mistake before it walked out of the store.  Whew!!  I gotta hurry over there and pick it up before something else goes wrong.  Maybe someday this will be funny. 

11 Responses to “New Year, New Look”

  1. Zazzy said

    Yikes on the prescription! I haven’t worked with Walgreens but I had issues with Walmart back in the day. I finally ended up paying a little more to go to a smaller pharmacy that also had a drive through – very handy when you’re sick. Or cold. Or lazy.

    What do you want done with your picture? I’d be happy to help if I can.

  2. adamswife said

    I want the picture small enough to sit at the top of the right-hand column. I tried uploading it thumbnail size, but when I added it to the widget it came up full size. I tried a couple others with the same result.

    The best thing about a drive-through is you don’t have to walk through the store and be tempted by all the merchandise you didn’t come looking for.

  3. LOVE the new look! Great job 🙂

    So sorry to hear about the pharmacy. I hear you about having the personal rapport with smaller chains. My experiences with Walgreens haven’t been too bad. Actually they’ve been better than some of the large chains. I hope they’re good to you. I’d be happy to help you out as well with the photo…I’m shooting over an email 🙂

  4. You have been busy! Google reader showed 5 new posts since my last visit … and I’ve zipped through them just now. I’ve been busy too come to think of it (and fighting a sore throat so I’ve had less energy to focus). Blog transitions can be tricky but I like the new look. As for resizing the graphic, I haven’t a clue and hope Zazzy or Sandy can help. Smiler (I don’t recall her address off the top of my head but I’m sure you could find a clickable link at Small Reflections) and Melissa (at partofeverything.blogger.com) might also be able to help. I’ve learned a bunch from them already.

    Sorry about the pharmacy hassles … don’t get me started on THAT one unless you want a RANT! (breathing out to relax and let it go)

    The graphics you’ve created with your name(s) and the word peace are lovely. I haven’t a clue how to do THAT either, so you’re way ahead of me on THAT one!

    As Joy told me when I started … baby steps and it will all come together. Just have fun!
    Hugs and blessings,

  5. Jientje said

    I like the new look! but I’m afraid I could not help you with the picture, I am such a computer illiterate myself! I lost all my comments trying to change something a few weeks ago, and now I’m very scared to change anything!

  6. adamswife said

    Storyteller, Jientje, thanks for stopping by. I can’t take any credit for the graphics. I belong to an MSN group called “Divas…40 and Over.” Babs graciously creates these lovely graphics and then personalizes them for all who want one. All I do is copy and paste. Anything more complicated than that is beyond my knowledge and capabilities. http://groups.msn.com/Divas40Over

  7. Christine said

    My husband and I go to Safeway for our drugs. Once a month we get 10 times airmiles plus I can pick up groceries plus they have a Starbucks and cup holders on the carts. So far they have been very good. I usually phone ahead and everything is ready. We have to be careful about refill renewals because the pharmacy is no longer allowed to phone the Dr. and get the prescription faxed. Our drug costs come to over one thousand dollars a month…that is with the cheap Canadian drugs! I like your new look. Who is the little lady on the side bar shaking her booty? The one with a heart on her bum cheek? LOL I am going to look closer.

  8. adamswife said

    That’s me, of course. Don’t I have a cute tush? 😉

  9. Jenn said

    HI eve!! Love the new look!!! I am still trying to figure out my hosting how to change mine. Hope your day is well.

  10. Zazzy said

    I shrank and hosted it for you Eve. It might still be too big but try it and see what other adjustments you need.

  11. adamswife said

    Hey, it works! Thanks, Zazzy. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
