Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

The Feast of St. Mark Downs

Posted by adamswife on December 26, 2007

twinkle-house.gif

I have blatantly stolen this feast from Elimah.  I read about it on her blog and took immediately to the idea.  This feast begins the day after Christmas and continues for several weeks.  If you’re not into puns, let me know and someone will explain it to you.  Being the first day of the feast (and having my driveway cleared by some special friends with a snow blower) I decided I had to do a bit of shopping in keeping with the spirit of the thing.  I did not, however, take advantage of the many bargains and marked down merchandise, I just got a few groceries to fill out my holiday meal.  I have a turkey all thawed and ready to roast.  Since I didn’t use it yesterday, I’ve gotta get it in the oven today.  So this evening I will be dining on roast turkey, homemade rolls, roasted potatoes, and carrots.  And, if I have any room left, there is some left-over chocolate pie in the freezer. 

I learned another holiday term yesterday.  You know the day before Christmas Eve – a day that has become part of the celebration in many families as it takes so many days to go everywhere and see everyone?  Well, that day now has a name.  It is Christmas Adam.  Adam came before Eve, so the day before Christmas Eve must be Christmas Adam.  It is so nice to finally have a simple name for that day.  You are all invited to join me for my Christmas Adam party next year. 😀

3 Responses to “The Feast of St. Mark Downs”

  1. Zazzy said

    What came before Christmas Adam?

  2. Very clever 🙂 I like it! Oh, and can I come over for dinner? that all sounds de-lish!

  3. adamswife said

    Sure, come on over. Tonight was left-over turkey sandwiches made with left-over rolls. Yum!

Leave a Reply

 
