Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Christmas Hoopla

Posted by adamswife on December 25, 2007

Apparently someone has decided that “meme” has become a too-used word. So, the tag formerly known as meme has now become a hoopla. Read on for the rules.

1. List 12 random things about yourself that have to do with Christmas

2. Please refer to it as a ‘hoopla’ and not the dreaded ‘m’-word

3. You have to specifically tag people when you’re done. None of this “if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged” stuff is allowed…then nobody ends up actually doing it. The number of people who you tag is really up to you — but the more, the merrier to get this ‘hoopla’ circulating through the Blog-o-sphere.

4. Please try and do it as quickly as possible. The Christmas season will be over before we know it.

So, a list of twelve Christmas-related things about me. Here goes.

1. My father was a postal worker and had to work Christmas morning for many years. Therefore, we opened Christmas gifts on Christmas Eve.

2. We went to Grandma’s house for Christmas Eve where we had a big turkey dinner and then opened gifts. Every year Dad, usually with one of his brothers, would have to go out for one thing or another that had been forgotten.

3. When we got home from Grandma’s Santa Claus had always arrived early and left our gifts.

4. When I was 13 I got a new violin for Christmas. The one I had been using was a 3/4 size and I had finally grown enough to need the full-size.

5. My father was asked frequently to play Santa Claus when I was very little. One year no one knew who he was until he saw my sister standing on a chair at the very edge of the stage. Being immediately convinced that she was going to fall, like any good parent he called her by name and told her to sit down quite forcefully. She immediately turned to him saying, “Daddy!” So much for anonymity. LOL

6. After my daughter was born my in-laws would tell me every year not to get her a dolly, as they had already purchased one. This made me quite furious. It was my place to buy the dolly and they should have asked. Finally, when she was 3 years old, I told everyone that I was getting the dolly this year and no one else was allowed to get her one!

7. We moved to Arizona in 1983. Our first year there I nearly missed Christmas. The weather was warm, there was no snow or other indication that winter was coming. Finally I became aware of the date and started preparations for the big day.

8. In a retirement community near where we lived (Sun City West) the city urged all businesses and residences to put out luminarias for Christmas Eve. My daughter still talks about how beautiful it was to have the whole city lit in this way.

9. It has long been a tradition in our family to drive around the town and view the Christmas lights people have put up on their homes and yards. We always did this when we left Grandma’s house before returning home for the night.

10. We are a family that loves music. Every year, no matter where we were, the Christmas Eve celebration did not end until Mom had gone to the piano and begun to play Christmas Carols. The entire family would join in singing the beautiful and fun songs of the season.

11. For several years it was my privilege to sing “O, Holy Night” at the Christmas service in church.

12. There was never a time in our family when a Christmas celebration was marred by fighting or quarreling. We are a loving family and managed to be on our best behavior at Christmas every year.

Now then, who shall I tag? How about Zazzy, Sandy, Storyteller, the Sarcastic Mom, and Elimah? Since the season is drawing to a close I give you all permission to shorten the list if you want. However, you must list at least 6 things and twelve would be better. Elimah, I know you are not Christian, you and anyone else can talk about this season without reference to Christmas if that suits you best.

7 Responses to “Christmas Hoopla”

  1. Wow! Those were great 12 randoms 🙂 You must have a lovely voice! Now that I have a little girl, I can totally relate about the dollies 😉

    thanks so much for the tag! I just did this Hoopla this past week here http://www.momisodes.com/?p=210 ….but I’d love to try and post 6 more!!! Thanks again, and hoping you’re having a very Merry Christmas 🙂

  2. Zazzy said

    The holiday season stretches into mid January – right?

    [insert whistling smilie]

  3. adamswife said

    It ain’t over ’til the tree comes down and the decorations are put away. Mid-January sounds about right to me. *wink* *wink* *nudge* *nudge*

  4. Mine is up…..I may have bent the rules a bit :/….Hope you’re Christmas was merry!!!

  5. Eve – How fun to learn more about you by reading your Hoopla this morning! I’m glad you decided to share in this way. Thanks for stopping by my blog over the holiday. I was busier than I expected to be and am catching up this morning … enjoying the notes visitors like you left on my blogs. I’m glad you found Peajay’s Christmas Blessing as you were leaving a comment for me. What a lovely one it is … gave me goosebumps when I read it and give me chills sitting here now. I know this has been a challenging Christmas for you as well and I hope the New Year brings gifts of the season to fill your heart with joy and gladness once again.

    As for the “Hoopla” … I appreciate the “tag” but Mama Zen beat you to it. FYI – my list was posted on December 19th or thereabouts. I may follow Sandy’s lead, however, and write about making new traditions and creating Christmas memories from this year. If I do so, I’ll let you know.
    Hugs and blessings,

  6. Elimah said

    This was fantastic to read!

    AND I learned that we have things in common. I play violin and I’ve sung O Holy Night for churches more times than I can count. There are only a handful of us out there who can hit those high notes.

  7. adamswife said

    I’m awfully glad I decided to participate in this Hoopla. I’ve learned a lot about my friends and shared some special memories. As Martha would say “It’s a Good Thing.” Thank you all for sharing with me.

Leave a Reply

 
