Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Decorated My Tree

Posted by adamswife on December 19, 2007

trees-carla.jpg

With  a bit of nagging from my grandson, I finally got out my tree and put it up yesterday.  In fact, I have 3 trees up.  I have a four-footer, one that is about 18-24 inches, and a fiber-optic tree that is 8 inches.  Gs calls that the baby tree.  It is battery-operated and has quit working.  I am being nagged to “plug in the baby tree.”  lol

Today  I’ve been making fiber-art Christmas cards.  That is my final project for this Christmas.  When I put them in the mail tomorrow I will be finished.  I make knitted dish cloths for my hair dresser every year.  I went in to have my nails done yesterday and forgot to take them to her.  So, I had to go back today.  I’ve spoiled her – now she can’t wash dishes without one of my knitted cloths.  The last ones I gave her have holes in them so she was a bit desperate.  Told me I had to bring them in today, can’t wait for my next appointment.

13 Responses to “Decorated My Tree”

  1. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptToday I’ve been making fiber-art Christmas cards. That is my final project for this Christmas. When I put them in the mail tomorrow I will be finished. I make knitted dish cloths for my hair dresser every year. … […]

  2. Zazzy said

    I had thoughts last year about making crafty things this year. It just didn’t happen. I sent crafty things! Crafty things supporting fair trade since I didn’t craft a darn thing myself. I’m very impressed with you! What, by the way, is a fiber optic card and how do you make them?

  3. Knitted dishcloths are the best! I haven’t made any for a long time. Hmmm…must get some yarn for them. I am curious about the fiber optic cards too.

  4. adamswife said

    Fiber optic cards does sound interesting. But it’s a fiber optic tree and fiber art postcards. For information on making the cards go here http://www.squidoo.com/fabricpostcards. Basically you take some fabric and make a small (4″X6″ finished) picture or quilt, stick it to some stiff material (really heavy pelon-type) using iron-on adhesive, make a back that looks like a postcard (also of fabric) and stick it to the other side of the stiff stuff, and then trim it to size and put a fancy edging on it to hold everything together. Then you put it in a clear cellophane/plastic envelope and send it to someone. That’s a very simple explanation. I’ve been involved in my first postcard exchange. I have received some really nice ones.

  5. I’m so glad you were able to get up a tree! 🙂 ooh..knitted dish cloths. A co-worker of mine made me a pair of my housewarming, and I LOVE THEM! they really are the best and more durable than anything I’ve purchased in a store 🙂 What a great gift!

  6. Jientje said

    Handmade gigts are the best, they are so full of love!

  7. Jientje said

    Sorry, giFts, of course!!!!

  8. Christine said

    I Googled that and are they ever gorgeous! Wow!

  9. adamswife said

    Well, my last Christmas card goes in the mail tomorrow. I’m still working on some dish cloths, but they will be sent out after the first of the year. I make things for Christmas, because I can’t afford to buy much. What I make is generally inexpensive, but the time and love that goes into it adds to the value.

    Jientje, I agree with you, handmade gifts are the best. I have great memories of helping my mom make Christmas gifts when we were growing up. We got to help stuff all the sock monkeys and other toys she made.

    Mom taught us to knit and crochet when we were around 9. The first knitting pattern my sis and I learned was for slippers. We had to make sure our grandmother got a pair every year. She loved those slippers. I used to make my brother-in-law a tie every year. The first year I missed he asked my sister where it was. He’s 6’4″ tall and very long in the body. He couldn’t buy ties long enough then. I always added extra length. Now he can buy the extra-long ties he doesn’t need mine anymore.

    Through the years I have made afghans, quilts, shawls, ponchos, and pajamas as Christmas presents. In addition to the knitting I also made Ed a clock for his room at the home. I bought a 6″ round, painted it, and decoupaged our grandkids pictures at the 12, 3, 6, and 9 positions. Of course, I also put in a clock-works kit.

    I love making things. Every year I say I’m going to start in January and work on gifts all year long. So far I’ve never done it. lol

  10. Oh — I’m jealous. I’ve got to stop visiting blogs and FOCUS on creating my cards or they’ll be NEW YEARS greetings instead of Christmas cards. Sigh! Reading this did remind me that I have a ceramic tree with a light inside I could put out … and maybe I’ll do that now … before I forget.
    Hugs and blessings,

  11. BTW….so sorry to do this…play only if and when you like…but you’ve been tagged *hiding face in shame*…..

  12. schnuckiputz said

    Eve,maybe you want to let Iris and Fern
    help you decorate one more Christmas tree ?
    http://www.fluffytails.ca/christmas.asp

    Eve,”Merry Christmas” and a healthy,happy
    New Year !

  13. Wishing you and your family and Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
