Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

Ups and Downs

Posted by adamswife on December 13, 2007

Yesterday I received word that Ed had taken a definite down-turn. He was unable to feed himself (didn’t seem to know how to use the spoon or the cup) and unresponsive. The only response they got from him all day was a grunt when they called his name.

Today he is up and joking with the nurses. He has no memory of yesterday, however. Last night I was afraid he would be gone before Christmas. Today it sounds like he’s all set for a good, long stay on this earth. I don’t like riding this roller coaster, but I’m awfully glad he’s better.

misty-lake.jpg

8 Responses to “Ups and Downs”

  1. Jenn said

    Oh no!! I will keep you in my prayers. I am so sorry for what you are going through

  2. I’m glad to hear he’s doing better. What an emotional roller coaster this must be. You are in my thoughts…

  3. adamswife said

    Thank you both. I really appreciate the prayers and good thoughts. I just got home from visiting Ed. He is better in some ways, but worse than when I last saw him. He got to tired to feed himself about half-way through supper. I finished feeding him, but he still didn’t eat as much as he normally does. I’m better able to cope emotionally today.

  4. Zazzy said

    Heh, I just commented what a roller coaster it is. I was so glad he was doing better this morning – it is really hard to cope with all the ups and downs. Hugs to you!

  5. You & your family in my thoughts and prayers today. The holidays are challenging enough without uncertainties like these. May God bless and keep you all … now and always.
    Hugs and blessings,

  6. I am sorry to hear what you are going through. May you feel Gods loving presence with you. Life can be so tough sometimes. I will keep you in my prayers. I hope you have a nice Christmas.

  7. Jientje said

    You’re in my heart too, you know!
    Hugs

  8. adamswife said

    Storyteller, Christine, Jientje thank you for the hugs and prayers. It helps to have support from my friends. I talked to Ed’s nurse a minute ago. He is doing okay today. He still needs a bit of encouragement and some help eating supper, but does better with his brunch. My constant complaint is keeping me pretty close to the restroom today so I may not be able to go and visit him. I’ve gotta save myself for the party tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

 
