Adamswife’s Weblog

“Morning people should be forced to milk cows.” -J Kellerman in Monster

November 4

Posted by adamswife on November 4, 2007

NBPMo Sunday, once again.  I used to consider myself an active member of my church.  As a matter of fact, I still consider myself as such.  However, the last few months have seen my activity reduced to the point where I rarely even attend services.  This is a result of being so often physically unable to do anything more strenuous than get out of bed in the mornings – sometimes not even extending to getting dressed.  Regardless of the cause, I feel the lack in my life.  The church has always been a source of friendship, strength, and comfort to me.  I miss that fellowship, the contact with others of faith.  And here I am, staying home again.

I have added a new box to the sidebar – a listing of recently read books.  Please feel free to comment on these and to suggest others that you have read.  I find reading preferable to spending mindless hours in front of the tv.  I enjoy discussing books and ideas with others.  I dropped in an a site this morning that had posted Poe’s “The Raven” for halloween.  It’s been many years since I had read that piece.  I enjoyed it very much.  I love Poe’s use of words and rhythm to evoke a mood in that poem.  What a wonderful mastery of language and emotion!

2 Responses to “November 4”

  1. lauraj said

    I recently googled poe and found many of his poems online. I really enjoy his poems too! Annabel Lee is a wonderful one too! (coming over through NaBloPoMo randomizer)

  2. Zazzy said

    Hmmm, lemme see. I love James Patterson, at least the Alex Cross and Lindsey Boxer series. I can’t figure out quite what he’s doing in this co-author 800 books thing.

    Don’t like Faye Kellerman but honestly, I haven’t given her a chance after *coff* her first book.

    Nora Roberts can be fun. Usually light and entertaining with some good characters. I haven’t read those particular books, though.

    I haven’t read any Hillerman in a while and I need to check out some of your other authors.

    I have been sort of reading Ruth Rendell’s first book. Her recent books sound interesting so I thought I’d start at the beginning. It’s a little skinny book and I can’t get through it. Keep falling asleep. I’ve re-read the Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz this week. I really like his characters. I have serveral books coming but they are mostly gifts. I bought mom Patricia Cornwell’s newest even though none of us have really liked her last several books.

    I love Poe, also – and recently downloaded Alan Parson’s Poe project, “Tales of Mystery and Imagination.”

    There. I like books, too. Heh.

    I hope you feel better soon. Sometimes I need a kick in the butt to get out. Try calling a church friend and telling her you’ll bring her something next week to give you incentive? It’s like inviting people to dinner so you’ll clean the house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
